Skip to content





Have your say on traffic calming measures in the southern region<p>The proposed traffic calming measures include the construction of speed humps, raised intersections and pedestrian crossings as well as a mini-circle. The affected areas are:</p><p>• Gugulethu </p><p>• Nyanga </p><p>• Heideveld</p><p>• Manenberg </p><p>• Surrey Estate </p><p>• Lansdowne</p><p>• Kenwyn </p><p>• Greenhaven </p><p>• Primrose Estate</p><p>• Hlathi Village </p><p>• Pelican Park </p><p>• Lavender Hill</p><p>• Plumstead </p><p>• Southfield </p><p>• Wynberg</p><p>• Claremont </p><p>• Steenberg </p><p>• Mowbray</p><p>• Belgravia </p><p>• Lotus River </p><p>• Hanover Park</p><p>• Fish Hoek </p><p>Although it is the City's intention to implement traffic calming measures at all the sites listed above, these will be subject to the availability of funding.</p><p>'Traffic calming measures are a great tool in safeguarding road users in our communities. These measures enhance pedestrian safety, particularly around schools where there is the highest concentration of vulnerable road users. The statutory public comment process is an important aspect of this undertaking. I encourage you to view the maps and submit any comment or input you might have,' said the City's Mayoral Committee Member for Urban Mobility, Councillor Rob Quintas.</p><p><strong>Comments, recommendations and input may be submitted as follows (quote reference 210232403):</strong></p><p><strong>Email:</strong> <a href="" target="_blank"></a></p><p><strong>Online:</strong> <a href="" target="_blank"></a> <br></p><p><strong>Written submission:</strong> Public Participation Unit, 3rd floor, Podium Block, Civic Centre, 12 Hertzog Boulevard, Cape Town 8001</p><p>Requests for new traffic calming measures must be submitted via the respective subcouncil offices:</p><p>Subcouncil 11 - Dulcie September Civic Centre, Corner of Protea and</p><p>Klipfontein roads, Kewtown, Athlone</p><p>Subcouncil 13 and 14 - Fezeka Building, Corner of NY1 and Lansdowne Road, Gugulethu</p><p>Subcouncil16 - 11th Floor 44 Wale Street, Cape Town</p><p>Subcouncil 18 - Corner of Buck Road and 6th Avenue, Lotus River</p><p>Subcouncil 19 - Municipal Offices, Central Circle, off Recreation Road, Fish Hoek</p><p>Subcouncil 20 - Alphen Centre, Main Road, Constantia</p><p><strong>Libraries:</strong></p><p>• NY 144, Gugulethu</p><p>• Freedom Square, Nyanga</p><p>• Corner of Heideveld and Hogsback roads, Heideveld</p><p>• Corner of Sabie and Thames roads, Manenberg</p><p>• Balu Parker Drive, Gatesville</p><p>• Corner of Church Street and Lansdowne Road, Lansdowne</p><p>• Barbet Street, Pelican Park</p><p>• Joe Marks Boulevard, Retreat</p><p>• The Village Square, Yudelman's Lane, Plumstead</p><p>• Maynardville, Wynberg</p><p>• Corner of Victoria and Casino roads, Southfield</p><p>• Library Square, Wilderness Road, Claremont</p><p>• 31 Main Road, Mowbray</p><p>• Buck Road, Lotus River</p><p>• Corner of Hanover Park Avenue and Surran Road, Hanover Park</p><p>• Central Circle, Fish Hoek</p><p>Special assistance will be given to people who cannot read or write, people with disabilities and other disadvantaged groups who are unable to submit written comments to have their inputs or comments recorded and submitted to the municipality. </p><p>For more information, contact the City of Cape Town's call centre on</p><p>0860 103 089 or follow @CityofCTAlerts on X (Twitter).</p><p> </p><p><strong>End</strong></p><p><strong> </strong></p><p><br></p>2024-03-27T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#50e25600-7432-47c5-a905-a4e23037b4ce;L0|#050e25600-7432-47c5-a905-a4e23037b4ce|traffic calming;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb;GP0|#762de267-90ad-4660-8493-5085a227187c;L0|#0762de267-90ad-4660-8493-5085a227187c|Transport;GPP|#849c71d3-ed9d-4ce2-89f6-03e9c6f179ef;GPP|#ed82ebba-eb32-4b9a-99c9-da3e081869a6;GP0|#f1734e52-da42-4cfc-a3a5-3514093d3513;L0|#0f1734e52-da42-4cfc-a3a5-3514093d3513|roads10

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.