Skip to content





City’s new top management boasts world-class leaders<p>​</p><p>The appointment of three of the new Executive Directors was approved by Council on Thursday, 28 July 2022, and the other six at the Council meeting on 26 May 2022.</p><p>They join the City of Cape Town's City Manager, Lungelo Mbandazayo, and three other Executive Directors: Nolwandle Gqiba – Executive Director of Human Settlements; Dalene Campbell – Executive Director of Urban Mobility; and Michael Webster – Executive Director of Water and Sanitation, who are on existing contracts with the City.</p><p>The Executive Directors report directly to the City Manager.</p><p><strong>The newly appointed Executive Directors are:</strong></p><p>·       Executive Director: Corporate Services – Ernest Sass; </p><p>·       Executive Director: Community Services and Health – Zukiswa Mandlana;</p><p>·       Executive Director: Economic Growth – Ruby Gelderbloem;</p><p>·       Chief Financial Officer – Kevin Jacoby;</p><p>·       Executive Director: Energy – Kadri Nassiep; </p><p>·       Executive Director: Safety and Security – Vincent Botto; </p><p>·       Executive Director: Future Planning and Resilience – Gareth Morgan; </p><p>·       Executive Director: Spatial Planning and Environment – Rob McGaffin; and</p><p>·       Executive Director: Urban Waste Management – Luzuko Mdunyelwa.</p><p>'The City of Cape Town is a dynamic, world-class city and rated among the most sought after cities to work and live. It calls for leadership that will meet and exceed expectations. The City has followed a vigorous process in appointing the top management team. The competition was stiff: to be selected from 867 applicants is an achievement in itself and I want to congratulate the new Executive Directors.</p><p>'They have been appointed for their strategic ability, sound financial acumen and an innovative, influential and collaborative approach to managing and leading this great city of ours. In addition, we have ensured the individuals to lead our administration have sound knowledge and understanding of the local government environment – this is extremely important, given that local government is at the coalface of service delivery. We have high expectations, and so do our residents. I want to wish our new top management all of the best,' said the City's Mayoral Committee Member for Corporate Services, Alderman Theresa Uys.</p><p>Six of the Executive Directors – Ernest Sass, Ruby Gelderbloem, Kevin Jacoby, Kadri Nassiep, Vincent Botto and Gareth Morgan – started their term at the City on 1 July 2022. The other three Executive Directors – Zukiswa Mandlana, Rob McGaffin and Luzuko Mdunyelwa – have commenced duty today, 1 September 2022. </p><p>The appointment of the Executive Management Team (EMT) is a legislative driven process, meaning Council must approve the new appointments and a report on the appointment process of the EMT members must be submitted to the Western Cape Provincial Minister of Local Government, Environmental Affairs and Development Planning to ensure that the City has followed due process.</p><p>'The City's Executive Management Team is responsible for excellence in service delivery and municipal operations. They must be customer focused, honest, responsive and committed. This is a huge responsibility and privilege and we are looking forward to working with the team,' said Alderman Uys. </p><p> </p><p><strong>End</strong></p><p><br></p>2022-08-31T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#bd09809e-4f42-4fbd-8e84-b3af6b8f6e48;L0|#0bd09809e-4f42-4fbd-8e84-b3af6b8f6e48|executive;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb;GP0|#6516fa5e-93e3-4953-9f54-0f246e1d7556;L0|#06516fa5e-93e3-4953-9f54-0f246e1d7556|City of Cape Town10

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.