Skip to content





Cape Town announces Civic Honours recipients<p>​Speaking in City Council on Thursday, 24 August, Mayor Geordin Hill-Lewis said it was ‘a great joy to acknowledge the remarkable achievements of a number of men, women and organisations who have made Cape Town and the world a better place’.<br></p><div>‘Civic Honours have not been awarded in Cape Town for the past 12 years, but starting now, we are reviving the tradition, and we are finally ready to share the names of his year’s recipients.</div><div><br></div><div>‘Our city’s history is marked by the contributions of some truly remarkable people - men and women who have dedicated their lives in selfless service to others, talented artists, sports stars and musicians who have touched the hearts of millions through their craft, people who bravely fought the injustice of apartheid or the tyranny of fascism, people who spent a lifetime defending freedom and democracy.</div><div><br></div><div>‘They seldom do these things for reward and recognition, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t pause, from time to time, to reflect on their contributions and pay tribute to them,’ said Mayor Hill-Lewis.</div><div><br></div><div>The individuals who will be recorded in the Civic Honours Book are:</div><div><br></div><div>Lawyer, activist and former Constitutional Court Justice, Albie Sachs.</div><div>Legendary South African playwright, Athol Fugard.</div><div>The greatest South African test cricketer to have never played for South Africa, Basil D’Oliveira.</div><div>Social justice advocate and philanthropist, Bennie Rabinowitz.</div><div>The Queen of African pop, and Ma Brrr to her many fans, Brenda Fassie.</div><div>Afrikaans poet, painter and former political prisoner, Breyten Breytenbach.</div><div>Former South African soccer star and captain, and current national team coach, Desiree Ellis.</div><div>World War II fighter pilot hero, and anti-apartheid activist, AG “Sailor” Malan.</div><div>Humanitarian and founder of Gift of the Givers, Dr Imtiaz Sooliman.</div><div>Acclaimed singer-songwriter, guitarist and global music star, Jonathan Butler.</div><div>Political satirist, playwright and HIV/Aids educator, Pieter-Dirk Uys.</div><div>Teenage interpreter and peace broker between the Khoi and the Dutch in the 17th Century, Krotoa.</div><div>Social, education and climate justice activist, and Archbishop of Cape Town, Dr Thabo Makgoba.</div><div><br></div><div>We will also be issuing several Mayor’s Medals for people or associations who have served a community with a high degree of dedication and sacrifice.</div><div><br></div><div>The recipients of the Mayor’s Medal this year are:</div><div>The Friends of Mostert’s Mill;</div><div>Founders of The Clothing Bank, Tracey Chambers and Tracey Gilmore.</div><div>Ladles of Love’s Danny Diliberto.</div><div>The late Shaleen Surtie-Richards</div><div>Langa’s Busy Bees Rugby Club</div><div>The late Hank Lith of Claremont Arderne Gardens  </div><div>Zoë Prinsloo of Save a Fishie</div><div>The Volunteer Wildfire Services, </div><div>and state capture corruption buster, Athol Williams</div><div><br></div><div>‘I want to thank every resident who answered our call in the media for Civic Honours nominations. The response was wonderful and speaks to a real sense pride in the names put forward.</div><div><br></div><div>‘The official honouring ceremony will take place here in Council in December, but please join me now in recognising these Capetonians who have touched the lives of so many people, not only here in Cape Town, but very often around the world.</div><div><br></div><div>‘We are proud of your achievements, and we are very proud to call you our fellow Capetonians,’ said Mayor Hill-Lewis.</div><div><br></div>2023-08-23T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#e461c33b-5a6b-427b-aab7-ae593fa11e6d;L0|#0e461c33b-5a6b-427b-aab7-ae593fa11e6d|awards;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb;GP0|#18fadfdb-b463-40eb-82b2-4148feb8f4ea;L0|#018fadfdb-b463-40eb-82b2-4148feb8f4ea|Civic Awards10

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.