Skip to content





Call to join City nature reserve advisory committees<p>Organisations from neighbouring communities and interest groups can get involved in matters concerning their local nature reserves and protected areas by serving on the advisory committees.</p><p>'The Protected Area Advisory Committees play a crucial role as they ensure that our communities have the opportunity to get involved and play an advisory role with regards to the management of the City's nature reserves. The PAACs facilitate interaction, communication, engagement and the development of partnerships with surrounding communities and interest groups on the objectives of the reserves' management plans. We are always trying to improve our collaboration with residents, and platforms such as the PAACs assist us in building stronger and more resilient partnerships,' said the City's Deputy Mayor and Mayoral Committee Member for Spatial Planning and Environment, Alderman Eddie Andrews.</p><p>The membership of the PAACs is made up of representatives from formally constituted user groups and organisations. These delegated representatives do not serve in the PAACs in their personal capacity, but on behalf of the group or organisation. Also, the City may from time to time appoint specialist advisory members to serve on the PAAC.</p><p>The PAACs were last renewed in 2021 as provided for in the Protected Areas Act. These committees serve a period of three years and membership is now open for renewal and applications by new members.</p><p><strong>The following nature reserves have PAACs:</strong></p><ul style="list-style-type:disc;"><li>Blaauwberg</li><li>Bracken, including Perdekop and Haasendal</li><li>Durbanville, including Uitkamp Wetland and Botterblom</li><li>False Bay, including Rondevlei, Zeekoevlei, Pelican Park, Slangetjiesbos, and Strandfontein birding area</li><li>Helderberg, including Silverboomkloof, Harmony Flats and Morkel's Cottage</li><li>Steenbras</li><li>Table Bay, including Rietvlei, Diep River, Milnerton Racecourse and Zoarvlei</li><li>Tygerberg, including Bothasig Fynbos Nature Reserve and Arriesfontein</li><li>Witzands Aquifer, including the Klein Dassenberg Hills</li><li>Wolfgat, including Zandwolf, Strandfontein Aquifer and Macassar Dunes</li><li>Zandvlei, including Muizenberg East </li><li>Edith Stephens</li></ul><p>'I invite organisations with an interest in nature conservation to please apply for membership to serve on these committees. The nature reserves concern all of us, they provide a calming refuge away from the busy built-up urban environment, provides opportunities for learning and exploring, and help preserve our biodiversity for future generations. Those who visit and use these areas are key stakeholders and guardians. All of us can make a contribution, get involved, and make a difference,' said Alderman Andrews.</p><p>The closing date for applications is 17 May 2024. </p><p>For more information and application forms:</p><ul style="list-style-type:disc;"><li>Visit: <a href="" target="_blank"></a></li><li>Send an email to <a href="" target="_blank"></a> </li></ul><p> </p><p><strong>End</strong></p><p><br></p>2024-04-14T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#6ec4174a-5cde-4fbb-b20f-42e26e79bb87;L0|#06ec4174a-5cde-4fbb-b20f-42e26e79bb87|nature reserve;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb10

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.