Skip to content





Mayoral Committee<h2 class="sectHeading">​​​Portfolio Mayoral Committee Members</h2> <p> <strong><a href="">Deputy Mayor and Spatial Planning and Environment: Councillor Eddie Andrews</a></strong> <br> Deputy Mayor Eddie Andrews will assume responsibility for the Spatial Planning and Environment portfolio. With experience as a successful ward councillor in Mitchells Plain, as subcouncil chairman and portfolio committee chairman, he has insight into the planning challenges and opportunities in the City. He also now has a clear mandate to resolve the planning bottlenecks that persist in the city’s planning process.</p><p> <strong> </strong><a href=""><strong>Community Services and Health: Councillor Patricia van der Ross</strong></a><strong>  </strong><br> With enormous energy and a track record of effective leadership wherever she has served, and another new entrant, Patricia van der Ross is appointed as Mayoral Committee Member for Community Services and Health.</p><p> <strong> </strong><a href=""><strong>Corporate Services: Alderman Theresa Uys</strong></a><br>An entrepreneur and a person of enormous competence and leadership, Theresa Uys is appointed as a new Mayoral Committee Member for Corporate Services.</p><p> <strong> </strong><a href=""><strong>Economic Growth: Alderman James Vos</strong></a><br>With a prodigious work ethic and energy, and a clear commitment to make Cape Town both the easiest place to do business and the premier investment destination on the African continent, James Vos is appointed as the Mayoral Committee member for Economic Growth.</p><p> <strong> </strong><a href=""><strong>Energy: Councillor Beverley van Reenen</strong></a><br>With the exciting task of working to end load-shedding in Cape Town over time, with a track record of successful organisation and drive, Beverley van Reenen is appointed as Mayoral Committee Member for Energy.<br></p><p><a href=""><span style="font-weight:700;">Finance: Councillor Siseko Mbandezi</span></a><br>With experience as a previous chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Finance, Siseko Mbandezi is appointed Mayoral Committee Member for Finance.<br></p><p><strong>Human Settlements: Councillor Carl Pophaim</strong><br>With experience serving on the Human Settlements Portfolio Committee and the Planning Appeals Advisory Committee, Carl Pophaim is appointed as Mayoral Committee Member for Human Settlements.<br></p><p> <strong> <a href="">Safety and Security: Alderman JP Smith </a></strong> <br> With unparalleled experience and deep commitment to safer communities, JP Smith is appointed as the Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security.<br></p><p> <strong> <a href="">Urban Mobiliy: Councillor Roberto Quintas</a></strong><br> With a clear mandate to restore the N2 Express and Mitchells Plain link on the MyCiTi bus system, and to deliver a multi-billion rand MyCiTi expansion, Roberto Quintas is appointed as Mayoral Committee Member for Urban Mobility covering the Roads and Transport directorate.</p><p> <strong> <a href="">Urban Waste Management: Alderman Grant Twigg</a></strong><br>With depth of experience in urban place making and precinct management, and with a can-do attitude to any service delivery challenge, Grant Twigg is appointed Mayoral Committee Member for Urban Waste Management.<br></p><p><a href="" style="text-decoration-line:underline;"><span style="background-color:#ffffff;"><span style="font-weight:700;">Water: Councillor Zahid Badroodien</span></span></a><br><span style="background-color:#ffffff;">A medical doctor whose quiet diligence and commitment to detail earned him praise in his previous portfolio, Dr Zahid Badroodien is well suited to lead our service improvement efforts in water and sanitation. He is appointed as Mayoral Committee Member for Water.</span><br></p> <strong> </strong> <span> <div class="notification with-heading dark-copy pink bg-light-grey"><div class="graphic with-border"> <strong> </strong> <i class="info note">​​​</i><strong> </strong></div><div class="desc"><h4> <strong>Please note</strong></h4><p> <strong> </strong>The Area-based portfolios, previously allocated to different Mayoral Committee Members, remain defined as North, South, East and Central, under the Urban Management Portfolio. </p></div></div></span>GP0|#8b323979-d6df-4f8d-9138-258756c60307;L0|#08b323979-d6df-4f8d-9138-258756c60307|Mayoral Committee;GTSet|#ef3a64a2-d764-44bc-9d69-3a63d3fadea1;GPP|#481bffa1-ad2b-438b-8f7f-90392d02d0e8;GPP|#2ad5ede6-473c-4550-a932-aabda12143b1;GPP|#245ec7aa-a528-4cd3-bcac-597c292db711;GP0|#03942e29-c133-4704-ad55-e183345bd8f8;L0|#003942e29-c133-4704-ad55-e183345bd8f8|Mayoral Committee;GPP|#3b2fa557-1c67-40ba-b54e-9c7f47e488d5;GP0|#62cdd87f-3289-49dc-a1d6-5cb02a69f0ee;L0|#062cdd87f-3289-49dc-a1d6-5cb02a69f0ee|Mayoral Committee;GPP|#502e0421-6918-421b-a789-87c777489801;GPP|#d3f3e0bd-5b83-4c1f-845c-7e13f8f4e17d;GPP|#af370586-9ba3-404a-9d6e-02066ca42752;GP0|#8acba3ac-3920-4bd2-8fc7-816566c81630;L0|#08acba3ac-3920-4bd2-8fc7-816566c81630|Mayoral Committee;GPP|#37979909-fcf8-40e7-8391-35fe96beb318;GP0|#ef0edc90-ee8b-400c-b69b-68860980cf41;L0|#0ef0edc90-ee8b-400c-b69b-68860980cf41|Mayoral Committee;GPP|#54fd5f60-e11c-46b7-b35e-0154e5b30248;GPP|#fdaaa5aa-bac4-497d-b6ea-347f228ec59d;GPP|#e88ff549-973f-4e3c-a46c-cfbe61bd6a24;GP0|#ea9a0f4e-7de5-49f4-b90c-aa94e04563d7;L0|#0ea9a0f4e-7de5-49f4-b90c-aa94e04563d7|Mayoral Committee;GPP|#ad06c7fb-0083-4046-9a2d-e55047830986Learn about the City’s Mayoral Committee, including the focus area and duties of each Mayoral Committee member.0





You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.