Skip to content





Comment on the proposed traffic calming measures for various suburbs in Cape Town<span> <h2 class="sectHeading">About<br></h2></span><span> <div class="mobile-scroll">​​<br> <table style="width:520px;"><thead><tr><th style="width:82px;">Region<br></th><th>Affected areas</th><th style="width:75px;">Maps</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td style="width:82px;">Central<br></td><td>District six; Gardens; Kensington; Maitland; Milnerton; Table View; Tamboerskloof; Thornton; Vredehoek</td><td style="width:75px;"><a href="" target="_blank">Access</a><br></td></tr><tr><td style="width:82px;">North<br></td><td>Bellville; Bishop Lavis; Boston; Durbanville; Kenridge; Kraaifontein; Parow; Vasco Estate</td><td style="width:75px;"><a href="" target="_blank">Access</a><br></td></tr><tr><td style="width:82px;">South<br></td><td>Belgravia; Claremont; Fish Hoek; Greenhaven; Gugulethu; Hanover Park; Heideveld; Hlathi Village; Kenwyn; Lansdowne; Lavender Hill; Lotus River; Manenberg; Mowbray; Nyanga; Pelican Park; Plumstead; Primrose Estate; Southfield; Steenberg; Surrey Estate; Wynberg</td><td style="width:75px;"><a href="" target="_blank">Access</a><br></td></tr></tbody></table></div>​​​</span> <p>These measures will enhance pedestrian safety, particularly around schools. Although we intend to implement calming measures at all the sites listed above, there are cost-related variables that are still unknown at this point. Implementation will therefore be subject to availability of funding. </p><p>In terms of Section 17 of the Local Government: Municipal Systems Act, Act 32 of 2000, you can submit comments to the municipality in respect of the proposed traffic calming measures. </p><p>Access the full list of affected areas.</p> <span> <div class="notification with-heading dark-copy pink bg-light-grey"><div class="graphic with-border"> <i class="info note">​​​</i> </div><div class="desc"><h4>Please note</h4><p> Requests for new traffic calming measures must be submitted via the respective <a href="">Subcouncil office</a>.</p></div></div></span> <h2 class="sectHeading">Comment period</h2><p>Submit your comments from <strong>22 March – 24 April 2024</strong>.</p><h2 class="sectHeading">Submit your comment</h2><p>Submit your comments, inputs or recommendations via the following channels: </p><p> <strong>Online</strong><br><a href="" target="_blank">Submit your comments online</a>. </p><p> <strong>Delivery</strong><br>Deliver your comments by hand to the Public Participation Unit: </p><p> <em>Public Participation Unit </em> <br> <em>Third Floor Podium Block </em> <br> <em>Cape Town Civic Centre </em> <br> <em>12 Hertzog Boulevard </em> <br> <em>Cape Town </em> <br> <em>8001</em> </p><p>Alternatively, you can visit an office or facility near you to submit your written comments by hand.</p> <span> <div class="notification with-heading dark-copy pink bg-light-grey"><div class="graphic with-border"> <i class="info note">​​​</i> </div><div class="desc"><h4>Please note</h4><p> Our Public Participation Unit will assist you if you would like to submit comments but have a disability, or are unable to read or write. See contact details below.<br></p></div></div></span><span> <div class="mobile-scroll">​​<br> <table><thead><tr><th>Region<br></th><th>Contact person<br></th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>Central<br></td><td> <strong>Andre Louw</strong><br> Telephone: <a>021 400 9809</a><br> Email: <a href=""></a><br></td></tr><tr><td>North<br></td><td> <strong>Zandile Mahlasela</strong><br>Telephone: <a>021 400 5501</a><br> Email: <a href=""></a> </td></tr><tr><td>South<br></td><td> <strong>Anthea Bendie</strong><br> Telephone: <a>021 400 1450</a><br> Email: <a href=""></a> </td></tr></tbody></table></div>​​​</span> <h2 class="sectHeading">Contact us</h2><p>For more information and general enquires, contact:</p><h4>Customer Call Centre</h4><p> <em>Telephone:<br><a>0860 103 089</a></em></p><p>Follow us on X (formerly known as Twitter) <a href="" target="_blank">@CityofCTAlerts<i class="icon link-external"></i></a> for the latest updates.</p>GP0|#cc1f7b28-f43b-45ab-a0f2-08b4fefef7ed;L0|#0cc1f7b28-f43b-45ab-a0f2-08b4fefef7ed|Issues open for public comment;GTSet|#a7cfb90d-44ad-4426-98ce-565f79932396;GPP|#79e6adda-2aa2-4523-bc29-296828216c9322 March – 24 April 20240





You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.