Skip to content


Councillor details

Councillor details

Brendan van der Merwe

Name Surname


Cell number:
082 927 0515


Business number:
021 905 0929

Fax number:
086 610 5263

Joined council
21 May 2011

Subcouncil affiliation

All councillors are assigned to a subcouncil and serve either as elected ward councillors or as proportional representation (PR) councillors who are deployed by their political party.

Subcouncil 7

Proportional Representation

Committee Membership

Councillors serve on various committees of Council and represent the interests of their communities across a broad range of sectors. The various committees make recommendations to Council and its structures regarding important public service and other municipal issues.

Current membership

Spatial Planning and Environment Portfolio Committee
Urban Waste Management Portfolio Committee

Previous membership

Social Development and Early Childhood Development Portfolio Committee
22 June 2011 - 25 July 2012
Transport for Cape Town Portfolio Committee
25 July 2012 - 02 Aug 2016
Assets and Facilities PC
(Deputy chairperson)
26 Oct 2016 - 12 Dec 2018
Transport Portfolio Committee
13 Dec 2018 -

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.