Skip to content





World Cup Rugby Sevens dates confirmed for Cape Town<p>​Cape Town will host the tournament from 9 - 11 September in 2022. The iconic Cape Town Stadium, which has recently become the home of provincial rugby, will be the playground for the 24 men’s and 16 women’s teams.</p><p>The qualified teams for the men’s event are defending champions New Zealand, England, the Blitzboks, Fiji, Argentina, USA, France, and Scotland. Among the women’s teams, the Springbok Women’s Sevens side will join defending champions New Zealand, France, Australia and USA in Cape Town. </p><p>‘Cape Town is thrilled to be adding yet another major international sporting showpiece to our events calendar, and which will play a pivotal role in revitalising sports tourism in Cape Town. The success of the HSBC Sevens, Cape Town working with SARU and our world class Cape Town stadium, has shown that we are not only a rugby-loving city, but that we can host major international spectacles enjoyed by millions of fans across the world. The Mother City is geared to put together another masterpiece for Rugby World Cup Sevens.    </p><p>‘This tournament is yet another indication of the city’s reputation as the World’s Leading Festival and Event Destination. We will continue to host these mega events and ensure that Cape Town remains top of mind as a competitive international events destination. We are looking forward to again working with SARU and to welcome the Rugby World Sevens for a memorable tournament experience in our city. We are also excited about and look forward to the return of the HSBC Sevens World Series for a sixth occasion later this year after it was cancelled in several cities across the world in 2020 due to the global Covid-19 pandemic’, said Executive Mayor Dan Plato.</p>2021-05-18T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#f60216f6-93ec-4c26-bce1-440d1485abb1;L0|#0f60216f6-93ec-4c26-bce1-440d1485abb1|sports;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb;GP0|#6398d426-f799-44e8-abec-30af038afd7f;L0|#06398d426-f799-44e8-abec-30af038afd7f|Rugby;GP0|#13839e11-6321-4a6b-9359-1e8cc94a575e;L0|#013839e11-6321-4a6b-9359-1e8cc94a575e|tournaments;GP0|#90b49a62-96e2-436a-9c68-187c9ab33534;L0|#090b49a62-96e2-436a-9c68-187c9ab33534|Mayor10

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.