Skip to content



Councillor details

Councillor details

Johannes van der Merwe

Name Surname


Cell number:
083 324 1726


Business number:
021 444 0964

Joined council
16 July 2008

Subcouncil affiliation

All councillors are assigned to a subcouncil and serve either as elected ward councillors or as proportional representation (PR) councillors who are deployed by their political party.

Subcouncil 6

Proportional Representation

Committee Membership

Councillors serve on various committees of Council and represent the interests of their communities across a broad range of sectors. The various committees make recommendations to Council and its structures regarding important public service and other municipal issues.

Current membership

Interim Planning Committee (Chairperson)
Interim Planning Committee Tour (Chairperson)
Mayor's Advisory Panel (Chairperson)
Special Mayor's Advisory Panel (Chairperson)
Mayoral Committee
Mayoral Committee Executive Management Team
Special Council
Special Council In-Committee
Special Events Committee
Special Mayoral Committee
Special Mayoral In Committee

Previous membership

Finance Portfolio Cttee
22 June 2011 - 27 July 2011
Finance Portfolio Cttee
27 July 2011 - 29 May 2014
Standing Committee on Public Accounts
22 June 2011 - 27 July 2011
Grant Projects Review Committee
23 July 2014 -

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.