Skip to content





City approves designated sites for discharge of fireworks<p>​The City of Cape Town has approved 12 sites for the discharge of fireworks during Guy Fawkes, Diwali and New Year’s Eve this year. This is up from eight last year. The list was approved after consultation between emergency services, law enforcement, and the various subcouncils. The increase in the number of sites seeks to minimise the temptation to discharge fireworks from unsupervised areas.</p><p>‘A number of additional sites were proposed by ward councillors, but these did not meet the safety criteria and so we had to reject them. We have also removed Theo Marais Park in Milnerton from the list of sites following objections from the public. Sunrise Beach has also been removed, in part due to the traffic congestion’ said the City’s Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith.</p><p>After consultation with the subcouncils, the following sites have been approved for the discharge of fireworks: </p><div><ul><li>Tourism Centre, Athens Road, Table View beachfront (Killarney Racetrack is being considered as an alternative site for New Year’s Eve)</li><li></li><li>Wesfleur sports field, Reygersdal Drive, Atlantis</li><li>Bishop Lavis sports field, Lavis Drive, Bishop Lavis</li><li>Metropolitan sports grounds, Melkhout Street, Bonteheuwel</li><li>Delft Central sports grounds, Main Road, Delft</li><li>Swartklip sports complex, Swartklip Road, Mitchells Plain</li><li>Athlone Stadium parking area (eastern side), Klipfontein Road, Athlone</li><li>Maiden’s Cove parking area, Victoria Road, Camps Bay</li><li>Strandfontein Pavilion, Strandfontein</li><li>Sarepta sports complex</li><li>Blue Downs sports field</li><li>Macassar Beach parking area, Macassar Road, Macassar</li></ul></div><div>All designated fireworks areas will be patrolled by City Law Enforcement and Metro Police as well as a fire inspector. Anyone under the age of 16 is not permitted to discharge fireworks and 23:00 is the cut-off time on both Guy Fawkes and Diwali, with New Year’s Eve being the exception.<br><br></div><div><span></span> </div><span><div><blockquote cite=""><p> <em>​​​​"I hope that residents can appreciate the massive logistical exercise we deal with every year, as well as the costs associated with deploying staff to all of these areas. We could look at designating more sites, but we simply do not have the budget or the resources. I appeal to members of the public to use fireworks responsibly to prevent injuries, and to take into account the effect fireworks have on those residents who do not partake in these activities. We have confiscated fireworks in previous years and issued fines for the illegal discharge of fireworks and we will do so again this year if need be."</em>​ <b>Alderman JP Smith</b><cite>City Mayoral Committee Member: Safety and Security</cite></p></blockquote></div></span><div>​Members of the public with information relating to the illegal sale or use of fireworks should report this to the Metro Police Call Centre on <strong>0860-POLICE (765 423)</strong> or to the <strong>South African Police Service on 10111</strong>. General emergencies can be directed via the City’s Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cellphone.</div><div> </div><div> </div><div>End</div><div><br> </div>2016-10-22T22:00:00ZGP0|#1d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70;L0|#01d539e44-7c8c-4646-887d-386dc1d95d70|City news;GTSet|#62efe227-07aa-45e7-944c-ceebacca891dGP0|#b80a134f-f902-463f-a1d1-c36a000e70b7;L0|#0b80a134f-f902-463f-a1d1-c36a000e70b7|fireworks;GTSet|#2e3de6c1-9951-4747-8f53-470629a399bb;GP0|#39f467ed-0e4c-4cf6-959d-be97ffd52ee1;L0|#039f467ed-0e4c-4cf6-959d-be97ffd52ee1|approved sites1

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.