Skip to content


Councillor details

Councillor details

Ian Neilson (Deputy Mayor)

Name Surname


Cell number:
083 306 6730


Business number:
021 400 1306

Fax number:
021 400 3368

Joined council
07 December 2000

Subcouncil affiliation

All councillors are assigned to a subcouncil and serve either as elected ward councillors or as proportional representation (PR) councillors who are deployed by their political party.

Subcouncil 3

Proportional Representation

Committee Membership

Councillors serve on various committees of Council and represent the interests of their communities across a broad range of sectors. The various committees make recommendations to Council and its structures regarding important public service and other municipal issues.

Current membership

External Relations Task Team (Chairperson)
Finance and Economic Development Mayoral Subcommittee (Chairperson)
Finance and Housing Portfolio Committees Combined Workshop (Chairperson)
Special Mayoral Committee (Deputy Chairperson)
Special Mayoral Committee Executive Management Team (Deputy Chairperson)
Special Mayoral In Committee (Deputy Chairperson)
Special Mayor's Advisory Panel (Deputy Chairperson)
Joint Cabinet and MayCo Meeting
Mayoral Committee
Mayoral Committee Executive Management Team
Planning Appeals Advisory Panel

Previous membership

Budget Steering Committee
16 Aug 2011 - 02 Aug 2016
Economic Cluster
13 Feb 2012 - 02 Aug 2016
Special Events Committee
24 Apr 2013 - 02 Aug 2016
Grant Projects Review Committee
23 July 2014 -
Special Events Committee
26 Oct 2016 - 28 Mar 2019
Planning Appeals Advisory Panel
(Deputy chairperson)
21 Nov 2018 -

You have disabled JavaScript on your browser.
Please enable it in order to use City online applications.