Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
  Skip Navigation LinksCity of Cape Town > English > Subcouncils > Wards

Ward Committees

Each ward may have a ward committee of up to 10 persons which must accurately reflect the registered CBOs in the ward in the relevant sectors including ratepayers’ and civic organisations, faith-based organisations, safety and security groups, environmental groups, early education, youth organisations, arts and culture, sport, the business community and designated vulnerable groups such as the aged, women and the disabled.

The Ward Councillor is the chairperson of the ward committee. A proportional representation (PR) councillor allocated to the Ward Committee and the Junior City Councillor are ex officio non-voting members. All committee members must regularly consult their sectors and advise the ward councillor on needs and priorities, including the budget, and make recommendations to the subcouncil or other committees of Council.

Although ward committees have no powers, they are the most direct link between a community and the structures of Council. They must meet at least quarterly and members receive an allowance for out of pocket expenses to carry out their duties. Click on the following documents for more information:


The Demarcation Board has divided the City of Cape Town into 111 geographic areas called wards to effectively manage service delivery to the whole city. Wards are represented by ward councillors elected by registered voters in the community. The ward councillor must look after the interests of all residents in the community regardless of the political party they support or even if they did not vote or are not South African citizens. The ward councillor is advised by the ward committee.

Community Organisations

Community-based organisations (CBOs) are voluntary organisations representing common interests. They are very important to the City for communication and consultation purposes. Each subcouncil (SC) maintains a database of registered CBOs in each ward in its area.

From time to time Council will request CBOs to re-register in order to ensure that information is as accurate as possible and to ensure they are regularly mandated to speak on behalf of their communities.  If you do not see your organisation in the database, click here to download the application form.


Neighbouring wards are grouped together into manageable clusters called subcouncils. There are 24 subcouncils. They meet in the third week of the month and meetings are open to the public. Council has delegated over 90 functions to subcouncils in order bring local government as close as possible to local communities, encouraging them to provide input on the Integrated Development Plan (IDP) and budget, legislation and policies. Subcouncils also play a major role in matters affecting their communities with regard to service delivery, planning, licencing and funding.

© City of Cape Town, 2014